Tags

, ,

Yesterday saw me play in the 1836 Tour at Denton Golf Club in Manchester and after a good practice round on Monday I was feeling great about my game and looking forward to my 2pm tee time.

I started the round in great fashion after hitting a good 5 wood into the first just through the back I got up and down for an opening birdie, then on the par 3 2nd I hit a 7 iron onto the front edge and rolled in about a 35 footer for birdie and 2 under through 2, onto the third where I hit a nice 3 wood down the fairway before hitting my pitch from 90 yards to 3 feet and a 3 birdie to start the day. I then hit two good shots into 4 but lipped out for a fourth birdie before hitting a weak return putt and a bogey, I would then go onto to do the same again at the 5th for a bogey then just missing the 6th green I hit a poor chip and again 3 putted to now put me at +1 through 6 and very deflated. A good putt on 7 from 20 foot got me another birdie and back to level. But on the 8th between clubs I went with the longer and hit a good shot and thought I had gone long only to find it had come up short in a hazard after the drop I pitched up and missed the putt meaning I was now +2.

I played the next few holes solidly picking up my fifth birdie of the day on the 10th, but a 3 putt after lipping out for birdie on 13 meant another bogey, I then came with back with another birdie at 14 and still fighting as scoring was high. What I thought was a good drive down the next found a water hazard crossing the fairway and a bogey was the end result.  16 and 17 very nearly provided two birdies but they both slipped by and a very sloppy bogey came at the last for a round of 74.

It was without doubt a very disappointing round especially after starting so well, but a positive was making 6 birdies, I will continue to work hard and look foward to my next event on Monday which is close friend Andrew Murray’s Pro-Am at Lymm.

