Tags

, , , , ,

Today was Captain’s Day 2011 at De Vere Wychwood Park with 150 people playing starting at just before 7am going right through to the last tee off at 130pm.

The Captain Martin Wainman asked me if I would like to run a beat the pro competition on the par 3 11th with the main aim of raising money for his chosen charity SPARKS which is a charity that raises money for research into medical conditions affecting babies and children, without doubt I was delighted to have been asked. It is so very nice to receive the encouragement of the members, Martin, Head Professional Jon Farmer and all his staff. Everyone at Wychwood Park without exception have been most welcoming and supportive, so it was an honour to help on the day.

The weather held on throughout the day and I hit many good shots one shot to inside of 3 feet was not good enough as someone played one to about 2 feet. Every group that came through had a smile on their faces and got into the spirit of the day raising money for SPARKS. A few did try a few tactics to try and put me off all in good fun though and by the end of the day I was to be beaten 12 times, 3 of which were ladies, I won’t mention the huge distance advantage they had!

The day ended with a fantastic prize presentation supplied by Martin with many winners. The day was a huge success with around £850 being raised for SPARKS.

