Tags

, , ,

Today saw me play the last round of this week’s event at Longhirst Hall sitting on +2 for the tournament and in a tie for 29th the goal was to shoot as low as possible and move up the leaderboard. The round didn’t start the way I wanted with a 3 putt bogey on the first, a bogey at the second before a 4 putt on 3 for a double bogey 7 a further two bogey’s came 4 and 5 and I was now +6 through 5 holes and moving rapidly down the leaderboard. After a good shot into 6 I had a very good chance to pull one back but it just shaved the edge and a par was the result. Another good shot into 7 left me with a good look at birdie which I rolled in. More good shots came on 8 and 9 resulting in pars, then on 10 and 11 I had 6 footers for birdies but misread both and another two pars. Before a tricky few holes which gave me look’s at birdies, none dropped.

A lovely 5 iron to inside 3 feet on the par 3 14th gave me another birdie with the hope of picking some more up on the closing few holes, a bogey on the next gave the shot gained back. The last 3 holes gave three pars with good looks at birdies and so at the end of the round I signed for a 75 and 217 (+7) total and a share of 37th. It was disappointing to finish in this position but again many positives came from the week, one being hitting 47 greens out of 54 in regulation. I now have a little bit of time before my next event, unless I get into Final Qualifying for The Open next week.

I must also thank Brian and Louise for taking the time and trouble of coming over to watch me today, it was very nice to have their support.

