Tags

, ,

Today was the first round of The Motocaddy Masters at Bovey Castle in Devon. I shot a two under par 68 which included 2 birdies and 16 pars. The round started well with a solid par at the first and then a lovely 4 iron to just under 3 feet at the par 3 second hole. Another couple of solid shots into the 3rd set up a birdie chance that just slipped by from 10ft. A good drive at the short par 4 left me with a 15 footer for eagle that took more break than I thought but a tap in birdie and now 2 under through 4. After this I gave myself chance after chance for birdie but nothing dropped even though I kept hitting solid putts. So through 15 holes I was still on 2 under.


After a slightly pulled tee shot on the 16th I was left with a decision go for an all or nothing hook or a pitch to be followed by another, I want for the pitch out, after a poor shot I rolled in a 20 footer for par and walked off the hole very happy with myself. It felt more like a birdie. Then followed an aggressive shot into 17 but the birdie putt would slip past, which would take me to the par 5 last looking for a closing birdie and after a solidly struck 3 wood I was left with 203yds into the green and a4 iron left me with 50 feet for eagle I misjudged the pace and left it 6 feet short from there the birdie putt just missed and I was in with 68, a good solid start with hopefully more to come tomorrow.

