Tags

, , ,

Today’s round was a 74 (+4) not quite the score I had hoped for after a very promising round yesterday to add to this my two round total of 142 (+2) left me in a tie for 53rd and a missed cut by 1 shot. The round started well with a good up and down at the first for par followed by a nice 2 putt par at the second. Then on the 3rd my second shot from 100yds looked great in the air only for it to catch a branch of some trees that block the route to the right third of the green from there I pitched about 12 feet past and felt like I had a good read on the putt, but it slipped by and so did the return bogey putt. I dropped further shots on 6,7 and 8 through a mix of bad shots and putts lipping out. So not the start I was looking for but a much needed birdie at the 9th helped to start to turn things around and then came a number of good shots and plenty of  chances for birdie unfortunately it took me until the 14th to make my next one so I was now back to +1 for the tournament and hoping to finish the round strongly  but two poor swings on 15 and 16 led to two dropped shots. Now I thought I needed to pick up two in the last two to make the cut and after a good shot into 17 I was left with 15 feet for birdie and this agonisingly slipped by when I thought it was in. So onto the 18th and in my mind only an eagle would do, but I didn’t know if I should go super aggressive and go Driver or hit 3 wood and attack with a long iron. Hitting driver would bring trees into play and possibly block me out on the second shot.  So I went with 3 wood and hit it perfectly leaving me with 190yds I then went with a 5 iron with only eyes for the flag, I went for it and the ball followed what I wanted never leaving the flag, the ball hit the green dead on line with the flag then seemed to disappear and for a moment we all thought it had gone in but it was hiding behind the flag. When reaching the green my ball was resting 20 feet past the hole and after much looking I picked my line and put a good stroke on it, the ball made it’s way towards the hole and starting to track to the centre I started to celebrate holing the putt only for it to die straight across the front of the hole and lip out. I thought I had rescued the round but it was not to be and so onto next week which is Open Qualifying at Mere followed by the next Europro at Longhirst Hall.

