Tags

, , ,

After winning this weeks event in the Liverpool Alliance my game was feeling good going into a busy few weeks of tournaments. Today I played Caldy in the 1836 Tour, with perfect weather a low score was on the cards unfortunately I shot 76 (+4). I started the round solidly with 5 pars coming close to birdie on each of the holes with each putt just sliding by. Then on the 6th a good drive caught the corner of the fairway bunker which left me with one foot in the bunker and one foot out from there I just caught too much sand and the ball came up just short of the green, from there I over hit my pitch and failed to make a putt of about 6 feet for bogey. On the the par 5 7th I hit a great 3 wood second shot to 10 feet which again just slid by, but a birdie and back on track but then I plugged my approach into the par 3 8th which resulted in a bogey, a 3 putt from range came on the 9th which I meant I was +3 through 9 and needing some birdies and one came straight away at the par 3 10th after a 4 iron I holed a swinging 25 footer.  After this I gave myself more chances for birdie but none would drop.

On the par 4 15th after a nice 5 wood down the middle I was left with 94 yards just  on the limit of my 56 degree wedge so I played a solid shot only to see the ball land on the very back edge of the green and bounce straight into the bushes behind the green. Another double bogey and now +4  with three to play I couldn’t find a birdie even though I gave myself very hole able chances.

So now I will keep working on the things I have been doing and prepare for next weeks event on The PGA Europro at Bovey Castle in Devon which starts on Wednesday.

