Tags

, , ,

Today I played another 1836 Tour event at Hesketh in Southport. I shot 73 (+1) to finish in a tie for 15th place five shots off winning. The round started with rain for the first couple of holes, then once it had passed through the winds gradually picked up to about a 3 club wind at the end of the round.

A solid start of 3 pars was followed by 3 bogeys in a row from the 4th and a birdie at the par 5 7th hole got me back to +2 for the round, then I gave myself a number of very hole able putts which where just slipping by, then a 2 putt birdie came on the par five 13th. Another good look at birdie just slipped by on the 14th before a birdie on the 15th got me back to level for the round. A pulled 5 wood into the par 3 16th saw me make a bogey and pushed me back to one over with two par 5’s to finish, unfortunately I could not get anything out of them and finished with two par’s. The 18th being the most disappointing after hitting a lovely looking 4 iron 2nd shot into the green only to see it go through the green onto the top of the bank behind the green and from there I could not make the relatively simple up and down.

So a day of many positives but also a day that highlighted a few areas that need some work.

